top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Kopta

Bringing My Corset to Life!

After transferring my perfected pattern into adobe illustrator it was time to print my garment out. The printing process is essentially the same as printing out any document, except for the fact that you are printing on fabric!

The printed fabric after it had been steamed to set the dye.

Once the fabric was printed it was time to steam it to ensure that the ink would set into the fiber.


The assembly process began with cutting out the pattern in the fashion fabric, the lining fabric and the interfacing. The corset needed a little extra help with its structure due to the lack of boning.


I then proceeded to stitch the inner facing to the pattern pieces at 1/2 inch seam allowance. With the interfacing in place i then pieced together all 18 pieces and sewed them together with rayon at a 1 inch seam allowance. Thankfully it was sewn with rayon because the garment turned out much larger than I anticipated and had to remove panel six from the garment (this was one of pieces on the side seam). The sizing of the patterns must have changed during digitization.


Stitching down the seam allowence on the inner side of the garment.

With the garment altered to fit correctly I then stitched the seam allowance down so that it would not create bulk underneath the lining and then I proceeded to add the lining to the garment. The next step was to then add bias tape to finish the edges of the garment. I had difficulties with edge finishing the bottom of the garment due to the many scallops. I had to stay stitch the bias tape on the the garment by hand to ensure that when top stitched there was no major flaws and so the tape would not move around as much.


The last stage in assembling the corset was to add the eyelets for the closure. This was accomplished by cutting four small holes on each side of the back panels and inserting the eyelets, making sure the correct side was facing outward. Using a specialized tool and a hammer I pounded the eyelets in and completed my garment.




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page