top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Kopta

The Design

After choosing the final print and the overall theme of the garment I decided to undertake the act of creating my first corset. Drawing inspiration from classical dress and baroque art, the decision to make a corset seemed only natural.

Technical Flats of the corset I plan to make.

Straying away from 18th century stays that had shoulder straps I decided to go for a strapless look, giving the garment a modern twist. Having no experience in corset making I decided that I would create small fitted sections on the corset to mimic the stitching lines and boning of a true corset. (Side Note: rather than using boning to create the shape of the garment, I will be using thick interfacing to give structure and shape to the garment. I know that this is not the proper way to make a corset but I am hoping that this garment is more comfortable than a traditional stay.) I chose to keep the garment a lace up garment so that this corset could fit a variety of sizes. Laced garments have always been especially appealing to me as well.


Once the design had been drawn out it was time to color and style it. I chose to create two distinct looks. One being more traditional with a dress being styled with the corset while the other look was the corset paired with bloomer like pants.






3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page