top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Kopta

Paper Patterns to Digital Patterns


The draped corset pattern next to the paper pattern.

Choosing the design of my corset was probably the most difficult aspect of this project for me because I love to just design most things on the fly so really settling down with an idea was intimidating for me. That being said physically making my pattern was a very satisfying.


Moving from the Computer to a dress form I draped my initial pattern and brought it to life. In the process of draping the pattern I realized that my original sketch was not up to my standards and so I made the decision to add more panels to the front and back of the corset to better represent the corset that I saw in my minds eye.


After I draped the pattern on the form I then transferred the pattern to paper. Once the pattern was transferred I made sure to add a 1 inch seam allowance and then cut out the paper patterns.


Sara in the process of digitizing her dress pattern.



The next step in this process was to then take the completed paper patterns and transfer them to Lectra Modaris, this is also known as digitizing. This process essentially is taking a giant mouse and clicking on vital points of the pattern which transfers the shape of the pieces to the computer application.



Corset pattern inside Lectra Modaris


Once all the pieces of the pattern are digitized the pattern can be perfected and altered accordingly. Although Lectra never seemed to get along with me, with perseverance I made it out alive and with a perfected pattern.



With my perfected pattern I then transferred my these patterns to Adobe Illustrator where I then filled the garment patterns with my very own fabric design. All that's left at this point is to print the pattern and assemble it!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page