top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Kopta

Getting Creative with CAD

Before January 7th of this year I never would have imagined myself being enthralled with the idea of computer aided design. Frankly, the concept of creating digital art scared the hell out of me. I had always been taught to create with physical mediums and the idea of not being able to touch my creations really rubbed me the wrong way. Putting aside my personal bias and testing out what technology has to offer should have happened earlier in my life. Wacom tablet in hand (because old habits die hard) I embark upon this journey of learning the digital side of design.


For my first experience of digital pattern making I decided to create fill patterns of art from my favorite painter, Camilla d'Errico. Cutting away the backgrounds of the paintings, I created motifs of her characters that I later filled an entire document with on Photoshop.


Fill of "I'm Melting" by Camilla d'Errico

After I created this image I decided to go home and create another fill from her art work "Little Miss Goo". I like this image more because there are no hard edges on the image and it blends better than my first attempt.

Fill of "Little Miss Goo" by Camilla d'Errico

To look at more art from my favorite artist visit https://camilladerrico.com/ or follow her on Instagram @camilladerrico

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page